Home

Current Features
HOPOS2018 Groningen
HOPOS - The Journal

Opportunities
Join HOPOS or Renew
Contribute to Journal

Governance
Bylaws
Officers
Committees

Online Resources
HOPOS Journal Info
Listserv Info

Membership Form

Web Archive
Past Conferences
Newsletter Back Issues


HOPOS Logo

HOPOS Officers 2017

President
Helen Hattab, University of Houston hhattab@Central.uh.edu
Vice-President
Mary Domski, University of New Mexico mdomski@unm.edu
Past President
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia alan.richardson@ubc.ca
Executive Secretary
Marcus Adams, SUNY - Albany madams2@albany.edu

Treasurer
Matthew J. Brown, University of Texas - Dallas mattbrown@utdallas.edu 
Steering Committee
Zvi Biener,  University of Cincinnati zvi.biener@uc.edu
Katherine Brading,  University of Notre Dame kbrading@nd.edu
Justin E.H. Smith, University of Paris 7 - Denis Diderot jehsmith@gmail.com
Sophie Roux, Ecole Normale Superieure - Paris sophie.roux@ens.fr Cristina Chimisso, The Open University  cristina.chimisso@open.ac.uk David Marshall Miller, Iowa State University dmm1@iastate.edu

HOPOS Officers 2016

President
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia alan.richardson@ubc.ca
Vice-President
Helen Hattab, University of Houston hhattab@Central.uh.edu
Past President
Janet Folina, Macalester College folina@macalester.edu
Executive Secretary
William Krieger, University of Rhode Island krieger@mail.uri.edu 

Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Zvi Biener,  University of Cincinnati zvi.biener@uc.edu
Katherine Brading,  University of Notre Dame kbrading@nd.edu
Dana Jalobeanu, University of Bucharest dana.jalobeanu@GOOGLEMAIL.COM
Andrew Janiak, Duke University janiak@duke.edu
Cristina Chimisso, The Open University  christina.chimisso@open.ac.uk
David Marshall Miller, Iowa State University dmm1@iastate.edu

HOPOS Officers 2015

President
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia alan.richardson@ubc.ca
Vice-President
Helen Hattab, University of Houston hhattab@Central.uh.edu
Past President
Janet Folina, Macalester College folina@macalester.edu
Executive Secretary
William Krieger, University of Rhode Island krieger@mail.uri.edu 

Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Zvi Biener,  University of Cincinnati zvi.biener@uc.edu
Katherine Brading,  University of Notre Dame kbrading@nd.edu
Dana Jalobeanu, University of Bucharest dana.jalobeanu@GOOGLEMAIL.COM
Andrew Janiak, Duke University janiak@duke.edu
Gideon Manning, California Institute of Technology gmax@hss.caltech.edu
David Marshall Miller, Iowa State Universitydmm1@iastate.edu

HOPOS Officers 2014

President
Janet Folina, Macalester College folina@macalester.edu
Vice-President
Gary Hardcastle, Bloomsburg University ghardcas@bloomu.edu
Past President
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology schmaus@iit.edu
Executive Secretary
William Krieger, University of Rhode Island krieger@mail.uri.edu   (On Leave, AY 2012-13)

Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Katherine Brading,  University of Notre Dame kbrading@nd.edu
Mary Domski, University of New Mexico mdomski@unm.edu
Dana Jalobeanu, University of Bucharest dana.jalobeanu@GOOGLEMAIL.COM
Jim Lennox, University of Pittsburgh jglennox@pitt.edu
Gideon Manning, California Institute of Technology gmax@hss.caltech.edu
Andrew Janiak, Duke University janiak@duke.edu

HOPOS Officers 2012

President
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology schmaus@iit.edu
Vice-President
Janet Folina, Macalester College folina@macalester.edu
Past President
Laura Snyder, St. John's University snyderl@stjohns.edu 
Executive Secretary
William Krieger, University of Rhode Island krieger@mail.uri.edu   (On Leave, AY 2012-13)

Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Elisabeth Nemeth, University of Vienna elisabeth.nemeth@univie.ac.at
Dana Jalobeanu, University of Bucharest dana.jalobeanu@GOOGLEMAIL.COM
Gary Hardcastle, Bloomsburg University ghardcas@bloomu.edu
Jim Lennox, University of Pittsburgh jglennox@pitt.edu
Ed Slowik, Winona State University ESlowik@winona.edu
Mary Domski, University of New Mexico mdomski@unm.edu

HOPOS Officers 2011

President
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology schmaus@iit.edu
Vice-President
Janet Folina, Macalester College folina@macalester.edu
Past President
Laura Snyder, St. John's University snyderl@stjohns.edu 
Executive Secretary
William Krieger, University of Rhode Island krieger@mail.uri.edu 

Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Elisabeth Nemeth, University of Vienna elisabeth.nemeth@univie.ac.at
Dana Jalobeano, University of Bucharest dana.jalobeanu@GOOGLEMAIL.COM
Gary Hardcastle, Bloomsburg University ghardcas@bloomu.edu
George Gale, University of Missouri - Kansas City galeg@umkc.edu
Ed Slowik, Winona State University ESlowik@winona.edu
Mary Domski, University of New Mexico mdomski@unm.edu

HOPOS Officers 2009-2010

President
Laura Snyder, St. John's University snyderl@stjohns.edu 
Vice-President
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology schmaus@iit.edu
Past President
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia alanr@interchange.ubc.ca 
Executive Secretary
William Krieger, University of Rhode Island krieger@mail.uri.edu 

Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Heather Douglas, University of Tennessee hdouglas@utk.edu
Eric Schliesser, University of Leiden nescio2@yahoo.com
Gary Hardcastle, Bloomsburg University ghardcas@bloomu.edu
George Gale, University of Missouri - Kansas City galeg@umkc.edu
Anastasios Brenner, Université Paul Valéry anastasios.brenner@wanadoo.fr
Mary Domski, University of New Mexico mdomski@unm.edu

HOPOS Officers 2007-2008

President
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia alanr@interchange.ubc.ca 
Vice-President
Laura Snyder, St. John's University snyderl@stjohns.edu 
Past President
Saul Fisher, American Council of Learned Societies sfisher@acls.org 
Executive Secretary
William Krieger, University of Rhode Island krieger@mail.uri.edu 

Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Heather Douglas, University of Tennessee hdouglas@utk.edu
Eric Schliesser, University of Leiden nescio2@yahoo.com
Gary Hardcastle, Bloomsburg University ghardcas@bloomu.edu
David Hyder, University of Ottawa dhyder@uottawa.ca
Anya Plutynski, University of Utah plutynski@philosophy.utah.edu
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology schmaus@iit.edu

HOPOS Officers 2006

President
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia alanr@interchange.ubc.ca 
Vice-President
Laura Snyder, St. John's University snyderl@stjohns.edu 
Past President
Saul Fisher, American Council of Learned Societies sfisher@acls.org 
Treasurer & Executive Secretary pro tempore
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Heather Douglas, University of Tennessee hdouglas@utk.edu
Menachem Fisch, Tel Aviv University fisch@post.tau.ac.il
Gary Hardcastle, Bloomsburg University ghardcas@bloomu.edu
David Hyder, University of Ottawa dhyder@uottawa.ca
Anya Plutynski, University of Utah plutynski@philosophy.utah.edu
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology schmaus@iit.edu

HOPOS Officers 2005

President
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia alanr@interchange.ubc.ca 
Vice-President
Laura Snyder, St. John's University snyderl@stjohns.edu 
Past President
Saul Fisher, American Council of Learned Societies sfisher@acls.org 
Executive Secretary
Cassandra Pinnick, Western Kentucky University cassandra.pinnick@wku.edu 
Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Heather Douglas, University of Tennessee hdouglas@utk.edu
Menachem Fisch, Tel Aviv University fisch@post.tau.ac.il
Gary Hardcastle, Bloomsburg University ghardcas@bloomu.edu
David Hyder, University of Ottawa dhyder@uottawa.ca
Anya Plutynski, University of Utah plutynski@philosophy.utah.edu
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology schmaus@iit.edu

HOPOS Officers 2004

President
Saul Fisher, American Council of Learned Societies sfisher@acls.org 
President-Elect
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia alanr@interchange.ubc.ca 
Past President
Thomas Uebel, University of Manchester msgssteu@fs1.ec.man.ac.uk 
Executive Secretary
Cassandra Pinnick, Western Kentucky University cassandra.pinnick@wku.edu 
Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Menachem Fisch, Tel Aviv University fisch@post.tau.ac.il
Michael Heidelberger, Universität Tübingen michael.heidelberger@uni-tuebingen.de
David Hyder, University of Ottawa dhyder@uottawa.ca
Anya Plutynski, University of Utah plutynsk@hum.utah.edu
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology schmaus@iit.edu
Laura Snyder, St. John's University snyderl@stjohns.edu
David Stump, University of San Francisco stumpd@usfca.edu


HOPOS Officers 2003

President
Saul Fisher, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
Past President
Thomas Uebel, University of Manchester msgssteu@fs1.ec.man.ac.uk 
Executive Secretary
Cassandra Pinnick, Western Kentucky University cassandra.pinnick@wku.edu 
Treasurer
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College hopostreas@allegheny.edu 
Steering Committee
Menachem Fisch, Tel Aviv University 
Michael Heidelberger, Universität Tübingen
Don Howard, University of Notre Dame
Joseph C. Pitt, Virginia Tech
Laura Snyder, St. John's University 
David Stump, University of San Francisco

(Re-Organization under New Bylaws, 2003)

Steering Committee:  New Member elected, 2002

Laura Snyder , St. Johns University

Steering Committee:  New Members elected, 2000

Joe Pitt, Virginia Tech
Menachem Fisch, Tel Aviv University

Steering Committee:  New Member elected, 1999

Saul Fisher, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Steering Committee:  New Member elected, 1998-99

Janet Folina, Macalaster College

Steering Committee:  New Members elected, 1997-98

Gary Hatfield, University of Pennsylvania
Michael Heidelberger, University of Tübingen
Rose-Mary Sargent, Merrimack College
Tom Uebel, Manchester University

Steering Committee:  earliest record, 1995-97

George Gale, University of Missouri Kansas City
Dan Garber, University of Chicago, later Princeton
Don Howard, University of Kentucky, later Notre Dame
Merry Maisel, University of California, San Diego
Bill McKinney, Southeast Missouri State University
Eric Palmer, Allegheny College
Cassandra Pinnick, Western Kentucky University
Joelle Proust, Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique, Paris
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia
David Stump, University of San Francisco
Warren Schmaus, Illinois Institute of Technology